NORTH WEST AREA JOINT POLICING SUB COMMITTEE

Monday 5th December 2022 at 3.00 p.m. Draft MINUTES

Announcements:

Item		Action
1.	Minutes of meeting held on 26 th September and matters arising.	Agreed. Follow up's completed.
2.	Presentation on Young People and their Interaction with An Garda Siochana	Presentation postponed until a later date
3.	Local Fora Updates	Agreed. Concern was expressed at the delay in recruiting a new Safety Coordinator. Michelle Mc Nally has advised her replacement Mr Shane Smart is due to start next Monday and another recruitment campaign will run for the Ballymun Safety Coordinator.
4.	Garda Update.	Statistic reports noted.
5.	Strategic Questions.	Not all replies received. Superintendent Peter Burke will forward the outstanding replies to Leona who will circulate them to the members.
6.	Halloween 2022	Mick Carroll gave an overview of Halloween 2022. Members expressed their thanks and congratulations to all involved in the event which proved to a huge success.
7	Revised JPC Policing Guidelines	Noted
8.	Policing Plan 2023	The date for submitting items for consideration to be included in the 2023 Policing Plan has now passed. Members requested that the Draft Policing plan 2024 be circulated not later than

		three months before the end of the year to facilitate the making of submissions.	
9.	NWA JPC Proposed Schedule of Meetings 2023	Noted	
10.	AOB	Jackie O'Reilly was pleased to announced that following on from An Taoiseach's recent visit to Ballymun funding of €2m has been awarded to the local area	
The meeting concluded at 16.40pm Date of next meeting Monday 27 th March @ 3pm			

Councillors: Keith Connolly, Lord Mayor Caroline Conroy, Noeleen Reilly,

Anthony Connaghan, Mary Callaghan, Briege Mac Oscar.

TDs: Deputy Paul McAuliffe, Deputy Dessie Ellis, Deputy Roisin Shortall

Officials: Derek Kelly (Director of Services), Mick Carroll (Area Manager-

Finglas), Jackie O'Reilly (Area Manager-Ballymun), Leona Harrison

(Senior Staff Officer), Mary Bellew (Staff Officer)

Gardaí: Superintendent Darren McCarthy, Superintendent Peter Burke, Insp.

Alan Kelly, Sgt. Paul McMahon

Community Reps: John Redmond, Tony Byrne, Theresa Lydon

Safety Fora Reps: Michelle McNally

Drugs Task Force: Hugh Greaves.

Others:

Apologies: Chief Superintendent Finbarr Murphy, Chief Superintendent Mark

Curran, Sgt Peter Foley

Keith Connolly

Chairperson